Category

Users

Using Greater Giving Online, you can add, remove, or update various options concerning Users in your organization. At this point in time, only Users within the software that are listed as Organizational Admins can add, edit, or delete all users. A normal User can only change their password. From the Organization Home, you can access View/Edit Users and Permissions to access all of the editing features for individual Users. Breakdowns of Adding Users and Editing User Permissions can be found below. 

Adding a User:

  1. From your Organization Home, click View/Edit Users and Permissions.
    • To get to your Organization Home from your Project Home, hover over the Project button in the top left corner and select Organization Home.
  2. Click the Add
  3. Fill in the fields for username, Full Name, and Email Address.
    • The first half of the username is your Organization short name, and is required on all of your usernames.
  4. Set up the User Permissions as necessary (either in the Default Area or by scrolling down to individual Projects).
  5. Click Save to save your changes, and email the user a temporary password and link into the site. Save and Add New will allow you to add another User.

Editing User Permissions:

User Permissions dictate what actions a User can perform within Greater Giving Online. Have a team of volunteers for Check In? Give them permission to check supporters in and swipe their credit cards! Have an accountant reconciling your statements? Give them permission to run reports and view Sales and Payments! Passing the torch? Give that User full Organizational Admin permission so they can do it all! A full list of our permissions (and what Users can do with them) can be found here.

  1. From your Organization Home, click View/Edit Users and Permissions.
    • To get to your Organization Home from your Project Home, hover over the Project button in the top left corner and select Organization Home.
  2. Click Edit next to the User you wish to update.
  3. Assign Default Permissions to give a User general permission for every Project (make sure to check ‘Apply Defaults to all Projects’!)
  4. Use the check boxes to mark specific permissions for specific Projects.
  5. Check what kind of Default Notification Setting you want to send updates to Users concerning Online Imports or Activities.
  6. Click Save to return to the Users Grid.

 


Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful